Happy Birthday, Quatchi!

Big thanks to commenter Lauren C. for reminding us that today is Quatchi’s third birthday!

More accurately, it’s the third anniversary of the unveiling of the Olympic mascots, but close enough!

Yeah, I know the picture above says “HappY 2ND BiRTHDaY”… Anybody wanna Photoshop it up to date?

— Steve

11 responses to “Happy Birthday, Quatchi!

  1. Same birthday as Bruce Lee, coincidence? I think not! (Insert Karate Chop here!)

  2. Olympic torch bearer 086

    3 Years already… -sigh- if onlt we could still be with them during the games. Steve, Lauren do you have any desktop background that can be found on the mascot website? I tried to download them but now we can’t get them, the page is not foundable. 😦
    Also, there are less and less stuff available on VANOC website. I struggle to find my torch relay picture. They told me it would be closed for good on Dec 31 (hopefully not). Can the little games like “miga moves” of “soaring Sumi” be saved?

    • Hey Olympic torch bearer 086 —

      Send me your email and I can send you some of those desktop backgrounds.

      Sorry to hear the web site will be shut down. Too bad they can’t keep it up just as a historical site.

      — Steve

      • Are they really going to shut down the whole site? The Beijing 2008 and even Torino 2006 sites are still working!

  3. Hi, this is a bit of a long shot, but I figured if anyone one would know it would be people on a Quatchi blog.

    Last week my girlfriend lost her quatchie toque (http://www.flickr.com/photos/yoyo/4314640715/) and Ive been trying to find a replacement because she loved that thing. The official site, ebay, and amazon have all come up empty, and that 17hours store you’ve posted only had toddlers hats.

    If you have any idea where I could find one, even a used one in good condition, I would really appreciate it.

    Thanks alot.

  4. Thanks Steve, but that’s the toddler one, the adult one looks a little different and is made by Kootenay Knitting.

  5. I’m sure an adult one will turn up sooner or later on eBay.ca … Good luck!

  6. I wish the people that designed the mascots were able to keep the rights to them. The world needs more Quatchi!

  7. Hey Adam, I don’t know where you are located, I live in Van, and a lot of the gift shops sell some of the items. I will pop by a few for you while I do my Christmas shopping and see if I can find anything for you. Do you have a pic of the one you want? I am pretty sure I know which one it is, but it might be helpful to have a pic of it. Hope I can find it!!

  8. Right… Just noticed the link you gave, will take a look.

Leave a Reply

