Quatchi Signs!

There are currently a bunch of signs around Vancouver showing the mascot trio with “Welcome” in a variety of languages (the one above is in Greek). This guy Stv is trying to photograph them all, as documented with his cool flickr set.

Turning from official signage to guerrilla art, Travis Nicholson! spotted this flyer on a phone pole — for whatever reason, dialing the number connects you to the Olympics Volunteer Information Center Centre…

Lastly, raincoaster snapped this flyer promoting last Friday’s pre-opening ceremonies protest…

Curiously, Squatchi was apparently absent from this protest, as well as from the Poverty Olympics. However, “The Mascot Formerly Know as Quatchi” does weigh in on the 2010 Welcoming Committee site:

I was a good mascot. I worked hard. Parades, corporate meet and greets, children’s parties, you name it, I was there. But then I asked the wrong question “If this is the green Olympics why did you blow up Eagle Ridge and destroy the Callahan valley? I have cousins that live in those forests.”

I was tasered and locked up under orders of a VANOC security certificate. It seems mascots are another one of those things not covered by the Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

They put an evil robot Quatchi in my place.

Don’t worry; I’m safe now. I escaped. And after a few days wandering the alleys of Vancouver hanging out with other folks who have been displaced by the games, I met up with people who were concerned about more than just getting rich. The kind activists of the Anti-Poverty Committee found me a new home, and a new job as official mascot for the 2010 Welcoming Committee.

I also have a new name, Squatchi, to honour the tradition of homeless people squatting in buildings abandoned by their owners, and because the International Olympic Committee owns my old name. I’m afraid they might lock me up again before I can return to my family and once again roam the wild and free mountain forests of the Salish coast.

Join me on Friday February 12 at 3 PM at the Vancouver Art Gallery for a festival of free speech, free games and free food and then a protest parade to greet the torch as it arrives at BC Place Stadium. It’s time for supporters of social and environmental justice to stand up, be counted and take back our city

P.S. Stay away from the evil robot Quatchi; he is dangerous and also smells bad.

UPDATE

If you can’t read it, this wanted poster reads: “Big and Furry call himself ‘Squatchi’. Dangerous subversive leftist liar… Call Vancouver 2010 Integrated Security Unit… (604) 247-8600.”

That’s the ISU’s Media Relations number. Found here.

— Steve

Leave a Reply

